About the Templeton Foundation

A review of the work of the Templeton Foundation will be forthcoming.

Over the years, I have gotten to know many of the award winners personally going all the way back to Frère Roger (1974), Ralph Burhoe (1980), Carl Friedrich von Weizsäcker (1989), Charles Birch (1990), Michael Novak (1994), Paul Davies (1995), Freeman Dyson (2000), Arthur Peacocke (2001), and Bernard d’Espagnat (2009).

Others with whom I have corresponded include Francis Collins (2020), Alvin Plantinga (2017), 14th Dalai Lama, Tenzin Gyatso (2012), Martin Rees (2011), George F. R. Ellis (2004), John.D..Barrow (2006), John Polkinghorne (2002), Ian Barbour (1999), Stanley Jaki (1987), and Thomas F. Torrance (1978).

A few became long-standing friends.

Eventually there will be a page to each of these people and personal recollections of our journey. For more, see the Index, the list of scholars and our first list of scholars from 1979.